AIA Miami presents Outstanding Design Awards


The Miami Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA Miami) presented 22 architects and architecture students with Outstanding Design Awards at its 62nd annual AIA Miami Celebrate Architecture + Design Gala Celebration.

More than 250 design professionals and students attended the event at the Little Haiti Cultural Centre in October, as the culmination of a month’s worth of events that included lectures, tours, exhibits, and receptions intended to celebrate the profession.

Twenty firms received awards in 12 categories; two students were recognized, and eight honor awards were bestowed.

The complete list of winners of the 2016 AIA Miami Design Awards is as follows:

Unbuilt Award

MOSS Architecture & Design Group – Honor Award of Excellence, 90/10 World Health Organization

KoDA Miami/Wesley Kean – Merit Award of Excellence, Etnia Barcelona

BEA Architects Inc. – Merit Award of Excellence, Turkmenbashi International Seaport Terminal

STRANG Architecture – Merit of Award of Excellence, Summit Mountain

Urban Design

Zyscovich Architects – Merit Award of Excellence, Plan Z for Miami

Committee on the Environment (COTE)

SB Architects – Award of Excellence, Palm Court

Architecture Greater Than 50,000 sf

Perkins + Will – Honor Award of Excellence, Princess Nora University

BEA Architects Inc. – Merit Award of Excellence, Florida International University Graduate School of Business

Arquitectonica – Merit Award of Excellence, Agricultural Bank of China Headquarters, Construction Bank of China Headquarters, Mandarin Oriental Hotel & Residences 

Architecture Less Than 50,000 sf

MATEU Architecture Inc. – Honor Award of Excellence, Steven E. Chaykin/Apartments for the Elderly

DFA – Merit Award of Excellence, Wynwood Arcade

Divine Detail

GELPI Projects + STA Architects – Merit Award of Excellence, Exotic Concrete House/GELPI Residence

Interior Architecture

FORMA Design Inc. – Merit Award of Excellence, SIRANDLI Dental

Oppenheim Architecture + Design LLP – Honor Award of Excellence, South Beach Penthouse


Shulman + Associates – Merit Award of Excellence, Bakehouse Art Complex Renovation

Gurri Matute – Merit Award of Excellence, Historic Hampton House Restoration and Adaptive Re-use

Residential Architecture

Oppenheim Architecture + Design LLP – Honor Award of Excellence, Bal Harbour House

MATEU Architecture Inc. – Merit Award of Excellence, Casa Pombo/James Gilman

Architecture Residential

STRANG – Merit Award of Excellence, 306 West San Marino Residence

Student Design

Matthew Wasala/FIU – Honor Award of Excellence, Ztower

Heidy Acevedo/FIU – Merit Award of Excellence, Bionergetic Palafitic Network

Test of Time

SB Architects – Merit Award of Excellence, Fisher Island

Students of the Year

Ana Celdran, Student of the Year/MDC

Vikki Tou Liu, Student of the Year/FIU

Theo Neil Blones, Student of the Year/DASH

Donnie Garcia-Santana, Student of the Year/UMSOA

Honor Awards

Avra Jain, Developer of the Year

Thornton Tomasetti, Engineering Firm of the Year

Allan Shulman, FAIA, Leader in Education

Maria Nardi, Leadership in Government

Amanda Rosenfeld, Assoc. AIA, Associate of the Year

Reinaldo Borges, AIA, Architect of the Year

John R. Forbes, FAIA, President’s Award

Thorn Grafton, AIA LEED, Silver Medal for Service


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.