AIA Miami presents Outstanding Design Awards at gala


The American Institute of Architects Miami Chapter (AIA Miami) presented 20 awards for outstanding design projects to architects and architecture students at its 64th Annual AIA Miami Design Awards Celebration last month.

AIA officials announced the winners at the AIA Miami Celebrate Architecture + Design event at the MAPS Backlot, with 300 design professionals and students in attendance. The design awards event culminated a month-long celebration of architecture and design, which featured a variety of events during October throughout the community, including lectures, tours, exhibits, receptions and other events.

Winners of the 2018 AIA Miami Design Awards:

Excellence in Architecture – Honor

K/R Architects: Museum Garage

K/R Architects: Long House

Brillhart Architecture: Thatch House

(STRANG) Design: Mountain Lake Residence

FORMA Design: Capital Aesthetic + Laser Center/Comprehensive Woundcare Services

Shulman + Associates: Jugofresh Wynwood Walls

Shulman + Associates: Jugofresh Santona Corner

Shulman + Associates: The Louver Building

Perkins + Will: First Year Village Housing

Excellence in Architecture – Merit

Arquitectonica International: Regalia

Oppenheim Architecture: Emiliano Hotel

Perkins + Will: L’Oreal Research and Innovation Center

Shulman + Associates: 723 Lincoln Lane North

Oppenheim Architecture: Ayla Golf Academy & Clubhouse

(STRANG) Design: Shelter Two Residence

William Lane Architect: Food@Science

HKS Architects, Inc.: Restoring Light-Pulse Memorial

M.C. Harry & Associates Inc.: Merrick House

Student Design Award

Renso Lopez | FIU: Desalinate

Gabriela Soto | FIU: Defiant Space

AIA Miami also presented 18 Honor Awards that recognize achievements in contributions to design, construction, and/or public service related to architecture, the building arts and urban design.

Winners of the 2018 AIA Miami Honor Awards:

Student of the Year – MDC: Alan M. Zreik

Student of the Year – DASH: Maria Kuraeva

Student of the Year – FIU: Kaitlyn Fuson

Student of the Year – UM: Sidney Matsumoto

Architect of the Year: Elizabeth G. Camargo, AIA, E. Camargo Design

Young Architect of the Year: Adriana C. Portela, AIA, Perkins + Will

Consultant of the Year: April J. Sharp, Power & Lighting Systems

Leadership in Education: Silvia Larrauri, St. Stephens Episcopal School

Leadership in Government: Chris Russo, City of Sunny Isles Beach

Leadership in Government: Susan Simpson, City of Sunny Isles Beach

General Contractors: Robins & Morton, General Contractors

Developer of the Year: David Martin, Terra Group

President’s Award: Daphne I. Gurri, AIA, Gurri Matute Architects

Firm of the Year: MGE Architects, a NELSON Company

Small Firm of the Year: Silva Architects

Allied Member of the Year: Glenn Remler, Sherwin Williams

Allied Member of the Year: Bill Collester, SIKA

Samuel Kruse Silver Medal for Service: Jaime E. Sobrino, AIA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.