FEFPA selects architectural showcase winners for school, college and university design: Zyscovich Architects leads with four awards

middle school
The Dr. Tony Bilbao Preparatory Academy designed by Zyscovich Architects and constructed by Thornton Construction Company, won first place in the middle school category

The Florida Educational Facilities Planners’ Association (FEFPA) has announced the winners of its 2018 winter FEFPA Conference Architectural Showcase competition.

The organization representing state-wide school facilities planners selected first place winners and runner-up awards of merit in six categories, representing the different levels of education/school construction.

The association says “we had 25 entries for elementary school, middle school, high school, community college, university and special projects.”

Zyscovich Architects, headquartered in Miami with Florida offices in Orlando and West Palm Beach, picked up four first place awards, for the elementary and middle school categories, as well as colleges and special facilities.

SchenkelShultz Architecture came first in the high school category, and received awards of merit in the elementary and university categories.

FEFPA says awards were based on seven criteria including:

  1. innovative response to educational program;
  2. aesthetics and use of materials;
  3. flexibility for community use;
  4. technology provisions;
  5. green design;
  6. relationship of spaces and expandability; and
  7. site development.

Winners in each of the categories are:

Elementary schools
First place: Zyscovich Architects
Hamilton Elementary School
Owner: Seminole County Public Schools
Builder: Pirtle Construction
Award of merit: SchenkelShultz Architecture
Picolata Crossing Elementary
Owner: St. Johns County School District
Builder: STG Contracting Group

Middle schools
First place: Zyscovich Architects
Dr. Tony Bilbao Preparatory Academy
Owner: Miami-Dade County Public Schools
Builder: Thornton Construction Company
Award of merit: HuntonBrady
Carver Middle School
Owner: Orange County Public Schools
Builder: Walker & Company, Inc.

windermere high school media center
Windermere High School media center

High schools

First place: SchenkelShultz Architecture
Windermere High School
Owner: Orange County Public Schools
Builder: Wharton-Smith, Inc.
Award of merit: Harvard Jolly Architecture
Cyprus Creek High School
Owner: Pasco County School District
Builder: Cutler Associates, Inc.

First place: Zyscovich Architects
Palm Beach College, Dr. Dennis P. Gallon campus
Owner: Palm Beach College
Builder: Balfour Beatty Construction
Award of merit: MC Harry & Associates
Miami Dade College, InterAmerican campus, building 6
Owner: Miami Dade College
Builder: OHL Arellano Construction Company

First place: Harvard Jolly Architecture
Kate Tiedemann College of Business
Owner: University of South Florida, St. Petersburg
Builder: Creative Contractors, Inc.
Award of merit: SchenkelSchultz Architects
University of Florida, Newell Hall
Owner: University of Florida
Builder: Ajax Construction

MCDS Center for the Arts
MCDS Center for the Arts

Special facilities
First place: Zyscovich Architects
Miami County Day School Center for the Arts
Owner: Miami County Day School
Builder: Coastal Construction Group of South Florida
Award of Merit: Song + Associates, Inc.
SWA education center
Owner: Solid Waste Authority of Palm Beach County
Builder: Song + Associates, Inc.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.