AIA Miami presents 17 design awards at its 65th Annual Design Awards Gala

hampton house restoration
The Hampton House was restored a few years ago by Link Construction Group. It was the scene for the 2019 AIA Miami Awards Gala.

The American Institute of Architects Miami Chapter (AIA Miami) presented 17 awards for outstanding design projects to architects and architecture students at its 65th Annual AIA Miami Design Awards Celebration at the Historic Hampton House.

Located in what is now Brownsville, the Hampton House has significant value in Miami’s black history as the only segregated hotel of that era still standing today. Originally designed by architect Robert Karl Frese, the Hampton House is an example of Miami Modern style. During its heyday, the venue was the hotspot for Miami’s black community and was frequented by prominent African American figures including Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, and Muhammad Ali, and was home to the weekly meetings for the Miami chapter of the Congress of Racial Equality.

“We were thrilled to have our annual event at the Historic Hampton House! This event highlights the best designs of our local architecture community, and the winners will be featured in an exhibition at the Miami Center for Architecture & Design in late January,” said Cheryl Jacobs, AIA Miami executive vice-president.

Arquitectonica International Corp.: University of Miami School of Architecture – Thomas P. Murphy Design Studio Building

AIA national president William J. Bates and AIA Florida president Nati Soto were in attendance and updated the group on the latest AIA accomplishments throughout the country.

The design awards event kicked off Archtober, a month-long celebration of architecture and design, which features a variety of events during October throughout the community, including lectures, tours, exhibits, receptions and other events.

Winners of the 2019 AIA Miami Design Awards:

Excellence in Architecture

Chandler & Associates, Architecture P.A.: Warehouse Complex

Steven Fett Architecture: Luly Vocational School

Saladino Design Studios: SuViche Doral

Moss Architecture & Design Group: Helsinki Central Library

Kobi Karp: Four Seasons at The Surf Club

Gensler: The Christine E. Lynn University Student Center

Gensler: 545wyn

Berenblum Busch Architects: Tenerife Cruise Terminal

KZ Architecture: Spirited Bamboo

Perkins + Will: Perkins and Will Miami Studio

Perkins + Will: Nicklaus Children’s Hospital Advanced Pediatric Care Pavilion Lobby

Arquitectonica International Corp.: University of Miami School of Architecture – Thomas P. Murphy Design Studio Building

[Strang]: River’s Beach

Shulman + Associates: Pink Cloud

Yu-Ngok Lo: Contemporary Ramen Bar

Student Design Award

Ramses Terrero, FIU: The Floating District

Kevin di Nardo, FIU: Holobiont Leviathan: Miami-Dade Oceanic Center

AIA Miami will also present 16 Honor Awards that recognize achievements in contributions to design, construction, and/or public service related to architecture, the building arts and urban design.

Winners of the 2019 AIA Miami Honor Awards:

Honor Awards

Architect of the Year: Craig Aquart, AIA

Sustainable Design Architect of the Year: David Harper, FAIA

Young Architect of the Year: Glenda Puente, AIA

Associate of the Year: Hooman Akhtair, Assoc. AIA

Leader in Education: David Rifkind, Director, FIU CARTA Landscape Architecture & Urban Design Dept.

Leadership in Government: Honorable Audrey Edmonson, Miami-Dade County Commission Chair

General Contractor of the Year: Petulia Schvartz, Trintec, Inc.

Allied Member of the Year: Soprema

President’s Award: Neyda S. Otero, AIA

  1. Samuel Kruse Silver Medal for Service: Elizabeth G. Camargo, AIA

Firm of the Year: Kobi Karp Architecture and Interior Design

Small Firm of the Year: Studio Mc+G Architecture

Student of the Year – UM: Tori Cohen

Student of the Year – FIU: Patricia Ponce

Student of the Year – MDC: Rafael Cardero

Student of the Year – DASH: Carlos A. Cepeda


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.