Pulte starts 284-home development in Martin County on land purchased from church

Rendering of a home design that will be built in Highpointe, a new Pulte community in Martin County.
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 60+ Companies Honored for Outstanding Performance in Safety and Construction Crown Point, IN – 5/13/2022 – Sixty Northwest Indiana construction companies were recently honored for their outstanding performances in safety and project excellence at the Construction Awards Banquet held in Merrillville by the Northwest Indiana Business RoundTable (NWIBRT) and the Construction Advancement Foundation (CAF). The banquet is a celebration of the most outstanding achievements in construction and safety over the past year. NWIBRT’s awards focus specifically on safety and CAF’s awards focus on multiple areas of construction performance and project outcomes. Awards were given to a variety of firms based on topics like safety performance figures, jobsite innovation, collaborative efforts to improve construction, professional development, and more. Representatives from NIPSCO, Cleveland-Cliffs, Cargill, Franciscan Health, and many other leading companies were in attendance. “One of the things that’s often overlooked about NWI construction is how much work companies do regarding safety. It’s a task that never stops. Not even for a moment. Companies here in our region make a dedicated effort to refine their safety practices across some of the most challenging projects. That’s why NWIBRT is proud to honor these companies. They adhere to a standard well above what’s expected, and that elevates our entire regional construction profile,” said NWIBRT Safety Committee Chair and Cargill Health & Safety Manager Rick A. Foor. “We’re always impressed by the ingenuity and quality found throughout projects in our region. There are many truly amazing craftspeople and contractors here and we’re proud to honor their achievements,” said Dewey Pearman, executive director of CAF. “Every day, these award-winning firms are laying the foundation for the future of our communities and they’re leading the way for other firms in the construction industry.” # # # About NWIBRT: NWIBRT is an independent, non-profit council of local firms committed to the improvement of construction and maintenance projects in Northwest Indiana. Captions for attached images: BP earned an Owner Excellence in Leadership award from NWIBRT. Hasse Construction earned CAF’s Industrial Contractor of the Year, Industrial/Capital Project of the Year, and the Public Works Project of the Year awards. Hasse Construction also earned an Achievement award in safety from NWIBRT. Cargill earned an Owner Excellence in Leadership award from NWIBRT. Tonn and Blank Construction earned a Recognition award in safety from NWIBRT. Tonn and Blank also won the Commercial Contractor of the Year award from CAF and the Commercial Project of the Year award. 2021 NWIBRT Safety Award Recipients Contractor of the Year Solid Platforms, Inc. Company of the Year Falk-PLI Owner Excellence in Leadership BP Cargill NIPSCO Innovation Award Tonn and Blank Construction Falk-PLI Outstanding Craft Persons Safety Leader Award Mark Abshire, Tonn and Blank Construction Robert Arrezola, Korellis Dan Bielski, Sargent Electric Company Tim Carey, Stevenson Crane Service, Inc. Jason Clemons, Fluor Constructors Tom Curran, Sargent Electric Company Derik Donohue, Superior Construction Stan Gawlinski, Total Mill Services, Inc. Josh Greco, DLZ Industrial Scott Gregory, Valdes Engineering Company David Higgins, Hard Rock Concrete Cutters, Inc. Jordon Jacob, Fluor Constructors Dave King, F.H. Paschen Zak Kormendy, Sargent Electric Company Joe Matunas, Total Mill Services, Inc. Josh McCarty, Milestone Contractors North Scott Meltzer, Falk-PLI Nick Messmer, Total Mill Services, Inc. George Nisiewicz, The Pangere Corporation Jeff Nix, Falk-PLI Cate Pfeiff, Cargill Will Price, Barton Malow Company Roy Sammons, DLZ Industrial Mike Shepperd, Milestone Contractors North Dan Slager, BMWC Constructors Inc. Ronnie Uylaki, Barton Malow Company Jim Webber, Stevenson Crane Service, Inc. Jeff Wengel, Superior Construction Brian Whitaker, Korellis Dave Wolski, Stevenson Crane Service, Inc. Roger Walters Award Dan Kvachkoff, Solid Platforms, Inc. Certificates of Appreciation Jim Arendas, Construction Advancement Foundation Rick A. Foor, Cargill Brian Fordon, Valdes Engineering Company Kaley Kostelnik, Total Safety U.S., Inc. Shoji Nakayama, Purdue University Northwest Recognition Award Barton Malow Company Calumet Lumber, Inc. Central Rent-A-Crane, Inc. Continental Electric Company EMCOR Hyre Electric Executive Construction Inc. K2 Industrial Services, Inc. Morrison Construction Co. Rieth-Riley Construction Co., Inc. Sargent Electric Company Superior Construction The Pangere Corporation Tonn and Blank Construction Tranco Industrial Services, Inc. Achievement Award ACMS Group, Inc. BMWC Constructors Inc. DLZ Industrial Fluor Constructors – Suncoke Hard Rock Concrete Cutters, Inc. Hasse Construction Co., Inc. Meade Industries Excellence Award Advanced Engineering Services Amex Nooter LLC AMS Mechanical Systems Brock Industrial Services LLC Code Red Safety Falk-PLI Fluor Constructors - Cargill Griffin Dewatering Midwest Luse Thermal Technologies Meccon Industries, Inc. Middough Inc. N.A. Logan, Inc. One Way Safety Orbital Engineering, Inc. Petrochem Insulation R. J. Mycka, Inc. Solid Platforms, Inc. Stevenson Crane Service, Inc. Superior Engineering LLC Thatcher Foundation The Ross Group, Inc. Total Mill Services, Inc. Valdes Engineering Company Source: NWIBRT 2022 CAF Award Winners Contractor of the Year: Commercial Contractor of the Year – Tonn & Blank Construction Industrial Contractor of the Year – Hasse Construction Specialty Contractor of the Year – Falk-PLI Highway Contractor of the Year – Rieth-Riley Construction Professional & Engineering Service of the Year – DLZ Industrial Excellence in Professional Development: The Pangere Corporation Projects of the Year: Industrial/Capital Project of the Year – Hasse Construction, Corbion Caravan Ingredients Public Works Project of the Year – Hasse Construction, East Chicago Sanitary District Commercial Project of the Year – Tonn & Blank Construction, Lakeshore Bone & Joint Institute Highway Project of the Year – Superior Construction, INDOT 80/94-US 41 & SR 912

Pulte Homes says it will develop a  284-single-family community in Martin County on 321 acres acquired from Christ Fellowship Church.

The development is about 10 miles from downtown Stuart and a 15 minute drive from Jupiter.

Pulte says in a May 12 statement that it will donate a 20 acres the land to Operation 300, a local nonprofit that supports the families of fallen military personnel.

Homes in the gated community will start in the $500,000 range.

“We are very excited about our newest project in Martin County,” said Brent Baker, president of PulteGroup’s southeast region. “Not only are we addressing a housing shortage in the area, but we also have the privilege of helping children who lost a parent serving our country in the name of freedom.”

Photo caption: Rendering of a home design that will be built in Highpointe, a new Pulte community in Martin County.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.